Restorative Justice

VOICE leaders have worked on criminal justice reform since our founding. After listening to stories from people in our member institutions about how they struggled with heavy debt related to criminal justice fees, VOICE was among the very first organizations to raise the issue of fines and fees. VOICE leaders put this issue on the map in recent criminal justice reform efforts in the city, and sparked new research by others on the impacts of a dysfunctional funding system.

Leaders are now focused on working effectively with the new Oklahoma County Sheriff on jail conditions and transparency, contributing to policy work on aspects of criminal justice reform, and calling for retroactive options related to State Question 780, which was passed with a significant margin by Oklahomans in fall 2016.

Sign up now to learn more and join us. 

Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office Community Advisory Board
Since 2017, VOICE has called for a citizen's advisory board to the Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office as one way to address some of citizens' concerns with the county jail, as well as to increase community awareness and build public support for addressing those concerns. On February 7, 2019, Sheriff P. D. Taylor announced his decision to establish a community advisory board (CAB). VOICE is proud to be working in collaboration with the Sheriff's Office to implement the CAB.

Deadline extended: Applications due May 24. Download the application here. The Sheriff's Office anticipates a June start-up.



Who's signing

carrie smith
Cathy Lewis
D'Marria Monday
Brent Beeson
Rhea Wolbrink
Charlene Kirtley
Jenifer LittleSun
Candace Liger
Harriette Porter
Shirley Payne
Mckenzie Tallbull
Carrie Blumert
Daniel Covey
Tammy Franklin
Susan Humphrey
Anthony Kirk
Veola Bray
James M. Branum
Malcolm Coby
Sundra Flansburg
Tyler Smith
Marilee Peryam
Tony Zahn
Becky Schaller
Chelle Moore
32 signatures

Please sign up.